My building and its physics

Ally Whitefalcon

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3132 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

So I bet this has been asked countless times. Sorry in advance, I'm desperate for references to useful documentation, as detailed as possible. If someone wants to take pity on me and actually talk to me, I would be your friend forever. I will sound naive here because I'm still learning. Please be nice.

I have a mesh building (in blender) that I've been trying to bring into SL. I broke it into pieces - it's 2 stories, so I have the basement floor, the inside of the basement walls, the outside of the basement walls, and so on. So far I'm just trying to deal with the basement floor and the inside walls. Oh, I'm using Blender 2.75a, and uploading using Firestorm Windows 32bit with Havoc.

The floor was easy. It's just a flat surface, so it's a few triangles, all basically coplanar.  When I just change it from Convex Hull to Prim in SL, everything looks fine. Yay.

The inside basement walls are driving me nuts. They're not incredibly detailed, but there's some gratuitous detial so I made a simplified physics shape, using big rectangular blocks for each wall. I didn't know if it mattered, but I was pretty careful that none of them overlapped. From everything I have read, it should be fine. But when I upload into SL, it comes in fine, no errors (any more...) but when I switch from Convex Hull to Prim, the physics shape hardly changes at all. It still looks like a shrink-wrapped volume, and I can't get inside. I thought if I provided the simplified model in the upload, it shoudl use it instead of generating it, but looking at it with the Developer->Render Metadata->Physics Shapes, my physics shape looks almost identical to the Convex Hull shape.

I don't understand what I'm doing wrong. It's probably something stupid, but I'll spend weeks finding it on my own. Help please???

hi :)