Missing required level of detail

AbbyRosseta

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1389 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I understand there has been a lot of posts on this subject but I'm still having trouble uploading a mesh I created to SL. Does anyone have an idea as to why this may be happening? Here's a photo! The mesh is rigged using avastar. Let me know if you need more references.

4658116a55196677655c3971cd1f3396.png

Hit subsurf a couple more times, that should fix it. *walks away slowly*

Or just wait longer while your slow internet connection uploads the way too dense model that you already have created whereupon the highest level of detail should finally appear in the upload dialog.

Your model is too dense, that's ridiculous for a shirt. It looks almost solid in wireframe view.

• Like 2

....*toots*

I understand the mesh is dense for a fairly simple mesh shirt but that is because I'm only a beginner and learning my way around zbrush. With that being said, there was no need for you to be snarky in your response.

• Like 1

One reason for "missing required level of detail" is due to using ngons (polygons with 5 or more faces) in your mesh. Avastar does not check on that. So what you can do is:

• go to edit mode
  • Select -> Select Faces by Side

Then in the operator panel (at bottom of the the tool shelf) set:

• number of faces: 4
  • type: Greater than

Now you get all ngons selected. If your mesh contains ngons, then you can proceed as follows:

• Mesh -> Faces -> Triangulate Faces

Now all your previously selected ngons have been changed to triangles. When you export again, then the problem of missing required level of detail might have been fixed.

Mesh density