Mesh: why do designers not eliminate the void under skirts?

Kerry Streeter

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2991 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Several years into mesh, why do most designers still not eliminate the void under skirts? There's a perfectly clear tutorial on how to do this at https://community.secondlife.com/t5/Mesh/See-Through-Gaps-in-Mesh-Clothing-Easy-Fix/m-p/2400645#M25076. I am not a designer or creator. I'm a consumer who's thoroughly fed up. I do have a sense of taste, and if I can't stand to look at my own avatar when I'm sitting down in a mesh dress, then I imagine others also find it off-putting.  If any creators of women's clothing who see this post have eliminated this problem, please send me an IM. Or if there's an easy fix I can carry out by playing with alphas (which I've never done). I'm tired of wasting time collecting demos of ravishing outfits and finding the same old void. And increasingly there's nothing else out there. Thank you.

Interesting.  It seems like different clothing parts would not be as easy as a tee shirt, tho.  For example the sleeveless jacket shown in the beginning.  Which part would need to fold over?  We are not only see past the arm but looking through the front of the vest as well.

Around the arm, neck and waist of close fitting pieces the extruded ends work like pant legs on system pants such that they are tucked up and then into the body.  Skirts have a lot more open area to cover and would still need to clip through the legs just to prevent those Sharon Stone moments.  It would not be as easy but should certainly be doable.