Mesh vs Sculpt LI 64x64 Mesh Terrain

Dominic Damiano

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3296 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

First off I am a blender noob.

I am trying to create a 64mx64m mesh terrain for a small island area. I created a heightmap and used displace in blender to mold the plane. The plane was subdivided by 63 giving me a 64x64 mesh. This gives me 8192 Tris and 4096 faces. I am 100% sure that the mesh can be optomised and decimated but I do not want to distort the smooth curves. 

With a UV unwrap this gives me a LI of 675 on the download. This seems insane for such a simple plane with round curves.

If i remember correctly sculpties at LOD3 have 1024 faces. So theoretically I could make the same shape with 4 sculpts and maintain the LOD.

I tried to divide to mesh into a smaller size to see if that was the problem. If I divide the 64x64 into 16x16 pieces I end up with 512 TRIS per piece and a LI of 15 per piece. This brings the Li down to 240 still much too high. I then went down further to 8x8 pieces. This dropped the LI down to 64. I feel that this is still too high and would require much more work than necessary.

Any tips or input would be appreciated

Maybe I shouldn't offer any advice here since I'm about to launch my own series of mesh islands... :matte-motes-wink: