Mesh turns Phantom in-world.

SabbaSerenity

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3758 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi all,I'm just learning to build mesh using Sketch Up. (Not one of the best to use,I know)...But my problem is,I'm not sure what settings to use to import into SL.I can import stuff ok,but when it rezzes up,it is always phantom and I can never use the stairs.There's like an invisible wall stopping me.Is it LOD settings? Physics? I have no clue.And I can't seem to get to the Aditi site to try out a temp version before importing.

Any help is much appreciated.

Many thanks

Sabba.

If there's an invisible wall stopping you, then your mesh is non-phantom there.You need to do two things.  First, create and import a physics model that defines exactly where the non-phantom portions of your model should be --- the walking surface of your stairs, for example.  Then, having imported the model and the accompanying physics model, set the physics type (in yourBuild/Edit tool's Features tab) to Prim rather than the default Convex Hull.  If you've done it properly, you should find that the right parts of the model are non-phantom while the rest is phantom.  Take a look at some of the video tutorials on the Machinimatrix site.

• 3 weeks later...

Hi Rolig,I really didn't make myself clear..I can either walk thru my entire build   (Phantom) or.Walk around the building but not get thru doors and walk up stairs and stuff. (Non Phantom).

I'm thinking you are right!.Sketch up is just what is sez!.For sketching.I can draw amazing Architecture!.Hope I can get to grips with Blender easy enuff.lol.Thanks again for all your advice. it's much appreciated hun.Love and Kudos.