Mesh Physics Issues

cscott0108

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2777 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm having an issue with Mesh Physics, I'm having more that than but I'll get to it after I figure this problem out. I've gone and made a house in Blender 2.77 and I've created a separate Pysics file to go with it. When I import the file the preview of the physics looks good but when I continue with the upload the physics are not what were previewed. And I cannot get into the house what so ever. 

Then, when I click 'Analise' It seems to a little better, I can get closer to the structure but not much and the preview has a weird shape and none of the openings are still accessable. I'm not sure what I'm doing wrong. I can upload photos if needed.

I'm not creating block based physics just plane physics as I figured I'd get what I need from it. Any Ideas will help here.

I am really new at this and new at SL in a sense I've been here a year but havent really played much in that year.

This is a known problem with the physics engine of SL. It has problems dealing with very narrow triangles and all objects with dimensions less than 0.5 m along any axis are automatically treated as convex hull regardless of what hysics shape you choose.

The solution is to use analyzed physics but you have to do it right. Create a separate mesh for the phsyics shape constins of three cubes separated by narrow gaps, one at each side of the doorway and wone above it. (You can sometimes skip the one above and make it with just two cubes but there's not much to gain from it.)

One important tip if you want to make good mesh btw: Never ever let the uploader generate any of the models, make them all manually. This is espeically important for the physics model but also for the LOD models you need.

hi :)

There is one important final step you need to take that you haven't mentioned......