How to texture a mesh object that you did not create and do not have UV maps for?

WimRasmussen Constantine

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4186 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi,..

This is my first time creating a thread in any kind of forum.... so please bare with me as I have no understanding of forum etiquette and as I have just been given a telling off about it I want to let people know I'm a noob and apologise in advance if I do something that's a no-no in the forums...

I don't have really any experience in building except for creating the odd prim objects (and a huge tin man once) for the fun of or convenience, but I usually change the texture on the inside of house and so on... with the introduction of mesh and now mesh objects in the houses too I am drawing a complete blank on how to texture them.... from reading other threads I understand you need the UV maps... which I don't have... I have been given a test pattern but I have no idea how to use it... could anyone help?... 

Thank you... Wim. :womanembarrassed:

If the creator of the model only gave it one material, then it can only have one texture on it.  If the creator gave it multiple materials, then it can have multiple textures.  You can change the textures, but you cannot change that area each texture will occupy.   

SL supports up to eight such materials per model.  Material assignments are created in the source modeling program.  Each area of the model that has unique material assigned to it can be given a unique texture in SL.

You cannot select individual faces in SL like you can in 3D modeling program.  SL's editor utility does not have the capability to address models down to the component level.  It merely considers each surface shader material group to be a "face". 

Make sense?

• Like 1

Heya Wim,

that 'testpattern' you have been given, does it indicate in any way the layout the textures need to have ?