My profits are in the crapper

Porky Gorky

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4156 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I've kept sales records for all my business Av's since I started trading in June 2005. Over the years all that data has gone into a database. So I ran a report today, out of interest, to find out what item had sold the most copies in my time trading here. Having released hundreds of prefab houses, thousands of landscaping items and textures plus lots of other random content I felt really let down when I discovered that my best selling item is a Toilet! 

7 and a half years of working in SL and I will be best remembered for a toilet...and it's not even a very good toilet.

So I was wondering what other people's best selling product was/is. By this I mean the quantity sold, not the value earned. Freebies not included. 

Brown Trim Toilet.jpg

I've made and sold all sorts of things for the past 5 years: clothing, buildings, scripted tools, .....  I am more proud of some creations than others,  and I'm always disappointed when one of my favorites doesn't seem to catch on.  My best seller, though, is a nightie that I made on a whim and have sold in two styles and two colors. Not my personal favorite, but it sells like crazy.

Simple Secrets.png

I have three markets (mannequins, clothing, and pets) that all compete for sales. Your post made me laugh so I ran a check for my overall top seller from each one. These are my all time top sellers:

Mesh Female Mannequin v2 - Pose 02.pngHigh-waisted Pantsuit in Black Shimmer.pngMalakai II.jpg

It's funny because the three products all are within 10 sales of each other right now.

Lucky me, my best is a flower

https://marketplace.secondlife.com/p/Sculpted-flower-accesory-floral-jewel/3670309

i still dont know why i dont do more but... i guess they wont sell as good as this one either... tried with other products and i know...