Deeds and Property Maps

PurveyorOfProperty

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2839 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello and good morning :)

I'm new to Second Life and just getting a feel for how things work when it comes to jobs and business. I'm a full time deed reader, writer and survey drafter for a surveying company IRL. I can't seem to find any in depth reference to how that works in Second Life but I'd love to offer my services or even start my own company if I have to. 

Is there any call for that kind of work? Reading, interpreting and writing "legalize" as they call it is a skill that a lot of people don't have and something I enjoy doing. That and my abilitiy to turn out fully and officially drafted maps using AutoCAD. I'd love to do what I love for other people here in Second Life and if anybody has any ideas of where I can get started without just fumbling around and trying to figure out would be really helpful.

Or if you're looking to hire a guy with my skills let me know ;)

P.O.P.

Probably not, although CAD might get you somewhere.

I did once have a small market in creating 'mini-sims' - small models of regions that showed off their principle features, kind of like a real life snowglobe. Something like that, maybe.

The closest thing we have is Covenants, but these aren't legally binding and I imagine each estate would only ever write one, and keep that updated as necessary. It's also - to be frank and honest - unlikely that a new user would be able to take into account all the nuances and situations unique to SL.

So yeah, maybe you can hammer out an opportunity in simulator/region design or development - or building in general. There's probably options!

Hope that helps!

Thanks for the fast reply Freya :)