scripting a door inside linked prims

Sartek Rosca

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3206 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Warning: I'm quite new to LSL scripting.

I created a simple sliding door script, that does exactly what I want and uses the llGetLocalPos and llSetPos functions to change it's position. This door is part of a little cabin i'm creating. The door operates on a simple touch, nothing fancy.

However, when I link the door with the cabin, the script doesn't work and my door doesn't move. The door is NOT the root prim of the cabin.

I notice that when I hover my mouse cursor of the door, it changes to the "hand" icon, which is typical for objects that can be touched. So the script is somehow active.

As soon as I unlink the cabin, I can click the door and it slides again.

Also, the door is a single prim, so don't point me to scripts for "multiprim doors", as this is something different from my issue.

I hope someone here can shed some light on how to do this. I tried Google, but I get a lot of references to the lsl wiki about the different ll-functions, but not a single introduction on how it all fits together.

Thanks for any assistance.

It doesn't make any difference whether the door is a single prim or has multiple prims.  For a multiprim door script, a single prim is just an easy simple case.  Take a good look at https://community.secondlife.com/t5/LSL-Library/Linkable-Multiprim-Sliding-Door/m-p/722649 , which is about as simple as a sliding door script can be.  If there's only one prim named "DOOR", that's all it will move.  If you never expect to have more than one prim in a door, you can simplify the script by removing the for loop, but that's not really necessary.