lldie() ? for a noob

varrich Steamweaver

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4783 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I am new to scripting but i am wanting to create something specific.  I want an object to be deleted with ||die after is has given a set number of things to anyone that touches it.

ie.  Avatar A touches the object and gets sample c

and then avatar b touches the object and gets sample q

then the object deletes along with the inventory contents

How would one get it set up to tdo that.  I can do the object givers from the inventory in the object.  I am just not sure how to get it to delete after a set number of objects have been given out.  Can anyone help me?

I would recommend defing a global integer (one defined at the very beginning of the script) for the total number of llGiveInventory functions.  Then each time you you give someone a sample, you increment that variable. 

At the end of the event handler that triggers the inventory transfers ( in this case touch) place a simple if statement that will trigger the llDie() once the limit has been reached.  Be sure to place this statement at the end of the event so that the final inventory transfer will be completed.

Example

// really basic cause I'm feeling a bit lazy

integer maxtouch = 5 ; // this sets the total number of touches at 5

integer touchcount = 0;

{

state entry ()

{

//blah blah blah... code and stuff...

}

touch_start (integer num_detected)

{

touchcount ++;  //this increases the integer touchcount by 1

//  This is where you do all the inventory transfers and whatnot... once you are finished

if (touchcount == maxtouch) 

llDie();

}

}

Something like that would work.  Once touchcount = maxtouch, the llDie() will be performed and the item and everything in it will go poof.