Need help with some scripts...

Fitzypoop

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4126 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hey all, 

I'm new to scripting and there's a few things I want to do but I have very little idea on where to begin or what script codes to use.

First, I want to make it possible for my avatar to "become invisible."  I don't know if it's possible for the entire avatar to go invisible like prims can so I'll settle for shoving him underground.  The type of script I'm looking for would allow me to click on an object which would then cause the avatar to "disappear."  How would I go about doing this?

Second, I have been able to make prims appear and disappear on command through the chat box.  Unfortunately for what I want to do this process is too slow.  What I want is for the object to appear when my avatar starts flying and to disappear when he stops flying.  From what I've seen through searching, the CONTROL code works with button presses but all I've seen has it working with movements and mouse clicks, not the F key for flight.

I'm mostly looking for someone to tell me what to do so I can figure it out from there.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

There used to be all sorts of hacks for cloaking an avatar, but now it's pretty simple--just use an outfit consisting of a full avatar alpha mask and no visible attachments. That's not scripted, though, and isn't something you can trigger and undo instantly (although changing complete outfits is pretty fast... and I suppose it could be scripted for those using RLV, but that's pretty special-case). If you really want to do something with a script, you could have it play an animation (llStartAnimation) where that animation displaces the visible avatar below the agent's actual location, as you suggested.