I am a newbie at scripting and need a script to make an object go up or down when it is clicked on.

Bedlam Ansome

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2838 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I am a newbie at scripting and need a script to make an object go up or down when it is clicked on.

I have an object that I want to go up when it is down when it is clicked on, and vice versa down when the object is up.

I have no real experience of creating scripts, I can see the logic behind this movement, but I have no idea how to script it.

Can anyone help please?

You have several options, depending on how far you want it to go up and down, how smoothly, how regularly, and (sometimes very importantly) what sort of object it is.

The simplest thing to do is use llSetRegionPos.  The first time it's called, set a position above the current one.  Then reverse the direction so that the next call makes the object go down.  Rinse and repeat.  It's basically a light switch that reverses a direction instead of changing the color of a light bulb.  You can write the whole script in eight lines (four of which are { curly brackets } ).

It becomes more complicated if the object is linked to something else, has to rise and fall very slowly, or has to keep oscillating on its own.

In that case, you have a couple of choices.  

One choice is to use the touch_start event to trigger a timer that fires every 0.1 or 0.2 seconds until your object has reached its destination. Each time the timer event fires, move the object upward (or downward) a small amount.  The smaller your steps, the smoother the motion will appear, but the more steps it will need to take to get where it's going.  Increment a global integer in the timer event to keep track of how many steps it has taken, and to stop the timer when it reaches the goal.  Then change the direction and be ready for the next time someone touches your object.