Coding - newbie question

Lboro12

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4025 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello guys,

I am new to SL and would greatly appreciate it if you could answer some of my queries.

I have to familiarise myself with the game as part of my final year project in order to achieve certain objectives. But whether these objectives are feasible or not, depends on your answers.

Basically, what I want to create is a virtual class-room (pc lab room) where the user can configure routers inside the room and these routers are at the same connected to VMware routers.

For instance, if an user in the SL pc lab room types in a command 'add ip address ...', it should send the command to a vmware router and return the result back to the pc in SL.

If it is feasible, great, I will do as much research as possible to implement it, however, if not -- I need to know as soon as possible so I can look for alternative platforms.

Thanks in advance

yepp 'easiest' (in quotations) way to achieve that would be to set up a webinterface, which serves a command prompt for VM ware, and is dropped onto a server / website, and will send the given commands towards the router / VM ware. With Mediatextures assigned to prims you could have each student have access his/her website interface / command prompt and interact with it.

Hello guys,

Thank you so much for your comments.