Boat scripts

Vin Soulstar

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3898 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi All,

I recently purchased a sailboat on market place (more like a pirate boat), trouble is it isnt set up for use with SL wind.

My question, how easy, or hard is it to turn this boat into one where i dont have to hold down the up arrow to keep the boat going forward.

I have never tried scripting before so any help would be appreciated.

It would be easy enough, except that SL wind is awful for sailing :-(  The problem being that it is designed to be exciting and interesting and make flags flap around in different directions - or something, anyway the result is that it changes all the time and can completely reverse in 10s or so.

So that leaves you with two options: pretend there's another 'wind' that is rather more consistent or just have a stop/go button and don't bother with wind at all.  'Proper' sailing boats in SL use the former and there is a popular 'WWC' system that will do most of the 'weather' work for you.  The problem with this is that you're rather expected to work out all the physics of your boat and what effect there is from wind (and waves and current) at different strengths and directions.  I recommend Starboards' Yacht Club in Hollywood sim on the Blake Sea as a place to check-out some 'real' SL sailing boats.  If you can find someone around it's also a good place to get information.

The alternative is just to forget about wind.  Edit the script so touch makes the boat llMoveToTarget() or llSetForce() to it.  Touch again to stop.  Steering is another matter.

Hehe - now, the problem with both those options is that you haven't told us if the script in the boat, or even the boat itself, is no-mod.  If that's the case then you're stuck.