A complete noob scripting question HUD

plushsanchez

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2636 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I have next to no experience with scripting, that is why I came to the experts.

Can anyone help or point me in the right direction.

I am creating an item that one can hold in their hands and sip from.  I would like for that item to include a timer to finish drinking and also a visual hud that will also be times.  I would also like to add sounds and chat emotes.  Is this even possible, if so, can any point me in the right direction?

Any help will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

It's certainly possible to make an object -- a cup -- that has an animation that runs for a while and then stops. That sort of thing is done all the time. All you need to do is trigger a llRequestPermissions statement in one event (probably a touch_start event) and then start the animation and set a timer in the run_time_permissions event.  When the timer event triggers, stop the animation.  You'll want to look in the LSL wiki for the llRequestPermissions, llStartAnimation, and llStopAnimation functions and to review how timers work.

I am not sure what that has to do with a HUD, since you don't need a HUD for that, and I have no idea what you mean by a "visual HUD".  If you want to put sounds and chat emotes into your cup's script, you can put those anywhere.

Thank you for your response.

The visual event, ok there is an item on MP that is a drug.  When you "wear" it eventually you will see colors and other things on your screen.  I'm pretty sure it's a hud (maybe it's called something else in scripting), I've already created it and it works fine. The goal is to avoid having the user wear two different items.  I want to combine the two.

Forgive me if I'm not being clear, I've very new to this.

You can sort of do that, but only in very limited circumstances.