Implement a Bitmask in LSL

CodeDesignerLab

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2769 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Because I can't figure out how to make a user space on the wiki, I'll post it here. (if anyone would explain that to me, that's be great) Anyway, this is the result of learning how to implement a bitmask in LSL. Here is it. A basic bitmask example to use for your custom option flags. which is usually taught fairly early in school but most self-taught programmers wait forever to learn it because it's intimidating 

integer rmask;
integer REPEATED = 1;
integer MONTHLY = 2;
integer WEEKLY = 4;
integer YEARLY = 8;
{
    state_entry()
    {
        rmask = rmask | REPEATED; // Set Repeated, Comment this whole line to see it not repeated.
        rmask = rmask | WEEKLY; // Set the interval
        string text = "The event is ";
        if (rmask & REPEATED)
        {
            text+="repeated ";
            if(rmask & MONTHLY)
            {
                text+="monthly.";
            }
            if(rmask & WEEKLY)
            {
                text+="weekly.";
            }
            if(rmask & YEARLY)
            {
                text+="yearly.";
            }
        }
        else text+="not repeated";

llOwnerSay(text);
    }
}

This will output "The event is repeated weekly."

• 1 month later...

I have seen this before, your example is an adaption / duplication in LSL from the code on this page. Everything that you would need to know about this particular bit of coding is explained on the page you got it from.

http://code.tutsplus.com/articles/understanding-bitwise-operators--active-11301

Original code is here :