Which one is better for SL? ATI (AMD) or GeForce (nVidia)

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3325 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

If you really want Forum response to this question (keeping in mind that very few of us are qualified to make a definitive reply) you could probably search on the terms AMD (or Radeon) and Nvidia. You'll find more threads than you can imagine.

In my reading, I've seen at least ten posts praising Nvidia's performance in SL over Radeon's as I have seen posts that say the opposite, so I've just gone with the flow and used Nvidia right from the start. I will offer one piece of real advice: if you do decide to go with Nvidia, do the research and get the best performing card you can afford. Sometimes that means not buying something from the latest and greatest series.

Although I am by no means an expert, I do know a lot of people have issues with certain AMD cards as they experience weird spikes with mesh.

You may want to google a bit on both cards ( I am a very happy Nvidia user, but what do I know!) , and read this blogpost by Inara Pey on the issues with AMD Cards, and then it is all up to you :)

There's been a recent rash of mesh rendering problems caused by AMD/ATI driver bugs. AMD support for OpenGL (the graphics architecture under SL) isn't the best and AMD drivers have been problematic in the past. I hear far less grumbling about NVIDIA.

Here's a searchable table of benchmark data for various graphics chips/cards...

http://www.videocardbenchmark.net/gpu_list.php

If you can afford it, I'd recommend something from NVIDIA with at least a 5 in the middle digit, like 650, 660, 750 etc. As Dillon suggests, the best deals are not necessarily in the newest cards. You can sort that table by "Videocard value", where the benchmark score is divided by the price. That will guide you towards the best bang for the buck.

Happy hunting!

jonhnnyroleplay wrote: