Premium & Purchasing Land Qs

AngelicDescent

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3151 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi all. I just started playing last week and it's been a fun adventure so far. I've had a chance to build some things within a public sandbox and from this, I would like to own a piece of land on the mainland. That said, this brings me to pricing and upgrading to Premium membership. I've done a lot of reading of forum posts, well as the wiki information, but I'm still confused because of how the pricing works. Once I upgrade to Premium, this will give me an option to buy a parcel on the mainland from my understanding. Thank you to whomever can answer these questions, which I apologize for being so many. I wanted to get some insight, second opinions and to make sure what I'm reading is correct or not.

a.) I know Linden gives individuals a home with Premium, but does Linden choose where I'll live on the mainland if I want to get a parcel? Or do I go to the locations that are yellow (with the small dollar sign) on the map, then purchase that parcel from someone else? Once a parcel is bought from a resident, the information in "About Land" will be changed to me or is it something I fill out on the Second Life website? How does that process pan out?

b.) If I have to go and buy the land at the yellow locations, how does square meters interact with monthly land fees? I assume locations are different in terms of square meters, so it's something I'll have to look at. I did check out the calculator, too. For example from what I saw using it, if the land is 900sq-m, it will get rounded up to 1024sq-m's monthly price?