trouble finding shoes that fit

LadyEllenT

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2748 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm using the classic avatar 'Kimberly'. I've demoed lots of shoes which are listed as compatible with classic avatars and none of them fit my feet. Editing doesn't seem to help at all. Is there something I'm missing? I'm pretty new to Second Life so if someone can explain this to me I would be really grateful. 

I already know how to get dressed using alpha layers etc., I picked up a posing stand for free that I use to edit the shoes and I've even tried using demos of other feet.

classic system feet and shoes can be pretty tricky to work with sometimes

in the folder with the shoes, you should find:

1) a shoebase which you also wear. It changes your feet (which can look a bit odd sometimes as is) but

2) also in the folder there should be a alpha which you wear also that will hide parts of your feet so that your shoes fit a bit better

then sometimes they still dont always fit so:

3) We have to edit our shoes into position

the easiest way to do this is to get a POSESTAND (is some free ones on the Marketplace so get one from there)

4) then we need to rez the posestand on the ground (drag drop from Inventory onto the ground) and then Sit on it. (if dont have a place to rez then search inworld for a REZ ZONE). The posestand will keep your avatar still, so you can zoom the viewer camera and edit your shoes

5) to Edit then right click on the shoes you are wearing. In the Edit dialog then can move the shoes into position

editing can be a little bit frustrating when we first learning how to do it. But perserve tho and you will soon be a expert at it like everyone else

wherorangi: