Want to be a DJ but dont know how

JeJo

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3646 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Ive been playing sl for many years now but im not putting any Linden in sl anymore via a card. So i thought id lern how to dj to make Linden an one of my friends suggested using winamp. The problem is i dont have any media on my computer ive never bought any songs off of itunes so how do i get music on winamp? 

Well...

First of all, I feel I should warn you that it is not just as simple as "using Winamp."  I'm not sure if your friend explained this to you or not, but in order to stream the music you're playing on your PC to other Second Life residents, you first have to install the SHOUTcast DSP Plug-In for Winamp so that whatever music is being played in Winamp gets transmitted to your ShoutCast internet radio server.

...What's a "ShoutCast internet radio server", you ask?  That's a service which receives the audio stream being sent from your PC, and rebroadcasts it out to the SL residents who are tuned in to your stream.  How do you get one?  Well... you have to subscribe to one, and pay for it.  Yes, it costs money.  The amount you'll have to pay will depend on what kind of service you get; some are a flat monthly subscription fee, others are a "pay-as-you-go" where you only pay for the bandwidth actually used and top it up as needed.  (Much like a prepaid cell phone.)