The Results Are In: Should Surveys Be Allowed On The SL Forums?

Perrie Juran

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4444 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I may be biased because I make my living by training people how to do research, and even do some research myself, but as long as the survey is well done I don't mind.   Sadly the few I have seen posted to the forums don't strike me as being well done. 

I also realize that I have some U.S. centric expectations about informed consent, but really, how hard is it to tell the folks you want to survey a bit about yourself and your institution?  If it really is for your disseration, tell us where you go to school and which department you are working in. 

I also recognize that the OP was mostly having a bit of fun with this topic, but I might want to conduct a survey someday.  I saw some research today that I will read soon that might be useful to replicate with SL folks.  I've already wondered whether I could conduct this research because of survey fatigue. 

VRprofessor wrote:

I also recognize that the OP was mostly having a bit of fun with this topic, but I might want to conduct a survey someday.  I saw some research today that I will read soon that might be useful to replicate with SL folks.  I've already wondered whether I could conduct this research because of survey fatigue. 

I would venture to say that a survey request by a resident who clearly is involved in SL, has some forum participation under their belt, and approaches the survey request in a way that indicates an understanding of SL and its residents, might have much more success and cooperation than the "drive-by" surveyors that we usually encounter.   

maybe they should make a section in the forums for  these things..

most seem like someone just looking for an easy grade..

i look at those ones as spam..