Can basic accounts open up stores?

tomalo10

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2710 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I would like to start selling creations, or at least find some way of making money.

One way that looks fairly promsing to me is to open up a store or something. The problem is, I have no idea how I would get people to visit, and I will be basic for a long time. I'm very new to this, so sorry if I'm being a noob.

Yes, Basic accounts can open a store, either in-world or on SL Marketplace. If you hope to cash out profits as real money, you do need to have payment info on file (Credit card or a Verified PayPal account). You do NOT need to be a Premium member.

To have an in-world store, you'll need to rent land. As a Basic account, you can't purchase mainland parcels and pay your rent directly to Linden Lab. But you can rent land from other Residents, or rent space in a mall run by other residents.

Small first-time merchants can get much more exposure by locating in a busy mall than they can by trying to open a free-standing store. You benefit from walk-by trafic from the neighboring mall shops. Find a place where people go already to buy the sort of things that you hope to sell, and get a small mall space there. 

SL Marketplace makes it possible to set up a web-based store without actually having any land in-world. There are no costs per month to have an SL Marketplace store. Instead, Linden Lab takes a certain percentage of any sales that you make, in return for providing the service and advertising SL Marketplace as a general place to shop.