A Small Curiosity About RL Taxes And Second Life

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3238 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Forgive me if this isn't the right place to post, but this is my first time really using

these forums.  Only took me 6 years eh *lol*

All jokin' aside I've had a question that's been naggin' at me.  I build once in a blue moon -

nothin' fancy, just these small art pieces.  I had been thinkin' of maybe sellin' them at some

point, but I'm unsure how that might relate to real world tax laws.  My real question is: if

at some point I had the means to add a PayPal account, and I wanted to 'cash out' my

earnings, would I need to file tax information for that?

(example: say I had a PayPal account and I had 20000L I made from selling my artwork,

and I wanted to 'cash it out' *I wish LOL*.  Would I need to file tax information for that?)

I apologize if my wordin' is a bit off - again, this is my first time really postin' here and I'm

(admittedly) not very good at understandin' that part of Linden Labs TOS.  If anyone needs

me to share more I will do my best to clarify.  If it helps at all, I live in Florida (U.S.).

if you are going to be cashing out on some regularish basis then best to talk to a tax accountant about it. Are you acting as a business of of some kind. Stuff that a tax professional can advise on

+

generally tho whatever you cash out is income (of some kind). Income you do have to declare. So yes is liable to tax in some way

SIX years here means you have probably bought a lot of Linden dollars, and could justify merely exchanging them back for real currency, especially since you probably won a lot of 'Sploders, quizzes, popularity competitions and even accumulated funds by gambling when it was still legal - assuming such things are legal in Florida.