need lecture hall to present powerpt or buy land +equipment (all number 400L)

HauDNP

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3285 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I'm new to Second Life so please provide step-by-step, or better yet, screenshots.

For school assignmnet, my group needs a place to present a powerpoint on SecondLife, either through a lecture hall/auditorium etc. Any suggestions? Where and how do I get there? 

Or do I rent a room? I have about 300 or 400L to spend. 

4 answers to this question

I'm very surprised that your school would give you an assignment like that if they didn't already have a presentation area of their own.  I'm also surprised that an instructor would just dump you into SL without joining you and offering some basic instruction.  That's rather irresponsible on their part. 

Fortunately, you don't need any sort of "room" in SL. All you need is a place to rez a prim to drop your Powerpoint textures onto.  You don't even need any sort of a projector ( although there's a good free script here if you want to use it).  Upload your textures to SL.  Then find a quiet parcel where you are allowed to rez a prim (your own land or land that belongs to a group you are a member of, NOT a public sandbox full of annoying onlookers).  Stretch your prim to make a decent-sized screen and drag/drop your textures on it, one at a time (or using that script).