Why do my textures with a transparent edge have a white border in SL?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 1468 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm new to this...

I've made a texture for a rug, and given it a transparent border to make it look a little more natural around the edges.

In Paintshop Pro, everything looked good but when I uploaded the texture to SL and put it on a prim, there was a thin white border around the rug where the transparency started. That is, around the edge of rug itself where the alpha layer changed from opaque to transparent.

I thought I had not cropped (with the alpha layer that is) close enough to the rug itself because the original image did have a lighter background colour around the rug. So, I did it over and made absolutely certain (by both making the outer edge of the rug image red, and putting the result against a black background in PSP) that the final image had no light edge to the rug. None, whatsoever.

On uploading again, the exact same thing happens. I see a thin white edge all around the actual rug, nicely antialiased with the rug edge but it makes my rug look rubbish. It's as if the alpha layer opaque parts (which are white in the mask in PSP) are being antialiased with the edge of the rug.

So, before I waste more money uploading another version, does anyone know why this might be happening and how to avoid it?

It may be the file type you've selected to save your texture.  Try using .PNG to save the file.  I'm not a PSP user so am not sure if you use save or export.  Also, you can use 'local textures' to test your your file before uploading.  It's a tab on the Texture Picker window and you 'add' your file from your hard drive.  That way you don't have to keep paying the L$10 to upload until you've gotten it right.