UV-Maps versus inworld texturing

Refja

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2993 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello Dear SL-Community,

I am just learning the use of 3D-Modeling Software and I am a bit irritated with the texturing.

Inside the 3D-Modeling Software I create an UV-Map, export it to, let`s say Photoshop where I apply the textures on the parts of the UV-Map.Let`s say we talk about a matress, or a table.

Advantage: I can make unique textures and, per example, the border of the object can have a different texture then the top of the object.

Disadvantage: the resolution is too low to have a crispy sharp texture inworld and I can not tile it/set repeats.

---

If I just upload the 3D-Model and texture it inside SL I can not make such individual texture which covers different parts of the model (wood + fabric + metal). I use just one wooden texture which then covers the object but at least I can set the repeats, like 4 times, so it looks crisp sharp.

Advantage and disadvantage do switch here relative to the ones mentioned above.

----------

I am unhappy with that. I would love to texture my UV-Maps inside Photoshop, making great individual textures, like the top of the table has some scratches but the borders dont have scratches - but the resolution is so bad that I have to texture them inworld..

Do I miss something or is this really the only way?

--

Then I would have another question, is it possible to set different materials to the faces of, let`s say a cube? So I can apply different textures on one object/primitive. So I can use a scratches texture for the top of my cube and a different on the sides? Like an intermediate solution for my texturing problem mentioned above? I am actually experimenting with the trial version of Maya.

If someone could explain to me how to do it best and if I recognized the limitations or if they are ways around it, that would be so great! : )