Sign in to follow this  

Friends and partnering


Adding someone to your Friends list

There are several ways to add a friend:

  • If you are near the person inworld, just right-click their avatar and select Add Friend.
  • If you are not nearby or if the person is offline, click the People button at the bottom of the Viewer window and select the MY FRIENDS tab. Then click the + button to open a search window and type in your friend's name.

When you add a friend, an Add Friend window comes up, allowing you to enter a custom message. Use this space to explain why you would like to be friends, or to remind the person how you know each other.

friend1.jpg

Once a friendship offer is accepted, your names appear in each other's MY FRIENDS lists. All friendships are bidirectional, so if you delete a friend, you no longer appear in his or her list.

Of course, for even more friends in Second Life, refer your real-life friends!

How to accept or decline a friendship offer

When another Resident offers friendship to you, a dialog appears in the lower-right corner of your screen.

friendship offer.png

If you click Accept, your new friend receives onscreen notification that you accepted the friendship offer.

Click Decline to cancel the offer.  The other person receives onscreen notification that you declined the friendship offer.

Video tutorial

This visual aid covers much of the above but was created before we added the ability to send a custom message when offering friendship.

Friendship etiquette

Completing your profile and reading other Residents' profiles provides ample opportunity for conversation. If you get along well, feel free to offer friendship.

If you're using Second Life Viewer 1.23, click someone's name in the Communicate window's Local Chat tab or an IM tab to open their profile.

For unofficial Resident-shared tips about socializing and making friends, see SLetiquette.

Partnering

How do I make someone my partner?

Second Life couples can make their relationships official. Whether you're married or just connected, you can designate your partner on your profile inworld and make your relationship visible to the rest of the community. Creating a partnership costs each partner L$10.

  1. Go to the Partners page.
  2. Enter your Partner's First and Last Name.
  3. Type in your Proposal to your to-be partner. It can be a love letter, song lyrics, or whatever suits the both of you best.
  4. Click Send Proposal.

Your potential partner is notified at the email address linked with their Second Life account. He or she has seven days to accept. Once the proposal is accepted, your names appear in one another's profiles.

  • The partnership email should be received in seconds. Here's what it looks like. Please do check your spam folder and other email filters to make sure it isn't being hidden.

If you receive a partnership request you wish to decline, you can do so on the Partners page.

Note: This video tutorial shows an old website design, but the basic way it works is still the same.

 

How do I end my partnership?

The person who "divorces" is charged L$25.

  1. Go to the Partners page.
  2. Check the box that says "I, (your name), would like to dissolve my partnership with (your partner's name)."
  3. Click Submit. Your partnership is dissolved and your now-ex-partner is notified.

Can I be partnered again after a divorce?

We understand that matters of the heart can be complicated. Inform your partner that you want to get back together — apologizing profusely and offering a meaningful gift often helps — and send a fresh partnership request.

All the best in your new beginning.

Does being partnered give us a special status?

Partnership is a vanity display for social purposes only and does not alter inworld permissions, group abilities, support benefits, and so forth. For example, if you are on a Concierge account and your partner is on a Basic account, he or she will not receive Concierge service. We cannot divulge private details of your partner's account, nor does being partnered entitle you to share accounts.

Does my Second Life surname change if I partner?

No. Your name stays the same.

Can I find out when I was partnered?

Your Viewer profiles does not show you this, so keep your original partnership request (sent via email) if you wish to have a record of the date.

Letting friends edit your objects

There are a couple of ways to allow a friend to edit your objects in Second Life. This is often referred to as collaborative building or collaborative creation. It's a useful way to let groups of people collaborate on a building project together. The method you choose depends on whether your co-collaborator is in a group, whether he or she is your friend, etc.

The group method

  1. Right-click the object and choose Edit to bring up the object editor.
  2. Click on the General tab in the editor. (If you can't see the tabs, click on More.)
  3. Click on the Tool icon to the right of Group and assign the object to the group your friend is in.
  4. Click OK.
  5. Select the checkbox next to Share.
Note: If you want other group members to be able to take copies of your object, make sure you set the next owner permissions (Copy, Modify, Resell/Give away) appropriately.
Note: Any other group members will also be able to edit the object. Group members can only edit objects that are shared with the group.

Object-related group permissions (and friend permissions) are explained in this video tutorial:

The friend method

Profile perms.png

  1. Click on the People tab and click MY FRIENDS to open your friends list.
  2. Mouse over your friend's name and click profile icon.png to view your friend's profile.
  3. In the profile page that appears, click the wrench icon and choose Permissions
  4. Under Allow (friend's name) to, select Edit, delete or take my objects.
Important: This gives your friend the same rights that you have to edit all of your objects.

A few things to note

There are a few things you should be aware of:

  • Your collaborative partners can only edit objects you've rezzed. Nobody but you will ever have access to your inventory, so if you want someone else to edit an object that you own, you need to rez it inworld first.
  • Your collaborative partners can't edit the next-owner permissions on an object they've been granted access to.
  • It isn't technically possible to link two prims together if they have different owners, even if the owners have given each other edit permissions.
  • Your collaborative partners cannot edit your objects if they have Select Only My Objects enabled in their Tools menu.
Sign in to follow this  


User Feedback


There are no comments to display.