Using others' items in creations I make

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4365 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I am very new to building and have only done a few basic items.  I am considering putting some items in the Marketplace but have some questions before I do.  I am not skilled enough yet to make every component on my own and am wondering if and when it's acceptable to use items from others in something I want to sell.  For example, I recently made a chair that includes sculpted items, animations, and scripts from other sellers.  Can I list this and sell it?

Also, I made an error recently and purchased a sitting pose system that only allows for one pose on an object.  Since I'm still learning, I didn't realize this.  My intention was to have multiple poses.  I assume the item is non refundable. It also cannot be transferred.  Would I be able to sell it to someone?

Thank you.

Hello.

Your permissions to use items will depend on the terms of use or licensing that was given to you at the time you bought your items.

Many freebie items come with terms of use that include no for-profit transfer; in other words, you can only give it away.

Other products come with the expectation you will use them in just the manner you describe.

Still others are meant for you to use as building components, but must not have those same priveleges transfered to your customers.

Using something without permissions and getting caught is the quickest way to waste alot of time and effort, and possibly risk the detrimental effects of a variety of penalties.

Make sure you read the creators terms carefully, and if in doubt NEVER ASSUME. ALWAYS ask. Everything in SL has the creators name attached to it. You can find this information listed on the edit pane, or from the radial menu when you inspect an item.

Unless otherwise stated, all sales are final.