Streaming radio and Media on Rented Skyboxes

Devriv

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3569 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello Everyone,

Recently, having purchased a prefab house, but not owning any land, I went to a rental agency and rented a skybox platform to put it on. Now I'm quite new to SL, and am very happy with having a place I could call my home, but I find it very hard indeed to believe that I cannot have my own music/radio inside my own house to listen to around the clock, or change whenever I want.  It would be music for my pleasure, and for the pleasure of my guests.  As it stands, my landlord, who incidentally is a very nice person, has explained to me that I cannot: first come first served; people must take turns in changing the land's (over which the numerous skyboxes are placed) music. The streaming music URL can't be changed.

My prefab house has a control center that provides switches to various music, and even allows the owner of the house to add their own URL, but none of these are working, even with the music stream off and media stream all the way up.

Although ideally, I would like to be able to change the streaming music URL --- I emphasize, for my skybox only without affecting any others close by --- so that neither I nor my guests would need to click on anything, and we could all listen to the same music, will those Media Centers that are sold in the Marketplace provide a solution? Is there anything I can do?  Should I give up this platform and look for another rental agency?  Being new, I would like to know, before I look for such rentals, whether there are in fact other rental agencies that would allow private music. 

Please bear in mind that no dispute is involved here. I am not disputing anything.  My landlord is in fact a most generous person. I’m just new, and want to learn and understand.  I thank you in advance.  I would be most grateful for any help.