Can someone copy your profile to make them look like you?

Ivannna Voom

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2355 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

they copied my textures out of my profile.. is this allowed? took my display name, joined my group..made their profole just like mine with MY textures

** and these were not just pictures i took in second life, they are textures that i created

I am a designer in Sl, I own land and have a buiness, maybe they are going to use this to steaal or defame me..

they have my RL pic in their profile uploaded by them..

14 answers to this question

10 minutes ago, Janeel Kharg said:

It appears that someone has been pretending to be me and having sex with my boyfriend.  I've changed my password but I'm pretty miffed that someone would do this,.  I'm even more miffed that my boyfriend of ten years didn't know it wasn't me!

Divorce only costs L$25 ;)

• Like 2
  • Haha 2

I've just had a look at your profile and that of someone with the same display name, and blimey!  It's a complete clone, apart from the uncloneable bits like partner, rez date and legacy name.   How creepy.   I'd certainly report it as harassment of some sort.

I guess you could file a DMCA takedown notice about the textures and RL photo.   

• Like 5

Yes, someone can copy your profile. (I'm not sure of the logistics on copying a profile picture, but if they are near you or can cam in close to you, they can take a picture of you and use that as their profile picture.

If someone is doing this in order to impersonation you and grief others, you can file an abuse report.

• Like 1

Yes, and No.

If you want some protection for what you write, you need a Copyright; © .

Other Residents must have your Consent to use a photo of your Avatar or any of your original artwork, photos. 

Looking good, is feeling good. Purchase expensive items, and make them pay if they want to be like you.