Can i sell unwanted inventory items

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4415 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

so i've been a resident sept.. 2010, and i have aquired many different items which i really would like to get rid of. for the record i have all types of objects from makeup, hair, skins., to meeroo nests/supplies, building objects, and textures. i have over 20,000 items and i plan on getting rid of at least a 1/3 of them.

I'm afraid it is not as simple as that if you plan to stay out of trouble.

Just because an item is transferable, does not necessarily imply that you have the right to sell it or even pass it along for free.

If it is items you purchased with no copy/transfer permissions, like a couch set that you no longer need, then you are mostly likely good to sell them.

Textures, even if full perm will almost always be a no-go. If you purchased them, will likely have permission to use them in your builds but not ok for reselling. If you got them passed by a friend or stranger, they likely did not have have the right to give them to you in the first place. The last option for textures would be that they are genuine freebies, in which case it's rather likely that the original creator would want them to stay free.

Building components, like sculpties etc will in most cases fall under the same rules as textures.

Hair, skins and misc full perm items, IF they are legit will either fall under similar regulations as textures. There is also a high probability that the items were illegally copied originally. I have been in SL for 6 years now and have yet to come across something like legal high-quality skin or hair with full permissions. The Eloh skin series are free, and OK to resell if you modified them, however you cannot sell the base skins if i remember correctly.