Jump to content
  • 0
Helderotto Andel

how do i delete a group what i created?

Question

  • 0

As far as I know you have to eject everyone from the group first so only you remain. Then after 48 hours the group is auto deleted as groups need at least 2 members to continue existing.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

As far as I know you have to eject everyone from the group first so only you remain. Then after 48 hours the group is auto deleted as groups need at least 2 members to continue existing.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Disbanding groups

While there's no explicit mechanism for simply deleting a group while it has members, you can disband a group in which you are an owner by ejecting all the other members and making sure nobody new can join the group.

After 48 hours with a membership of one or zero, a group is disbanded automatically.

32px-KBnote.png Note: Once you disband a group, you cannot recreate it. You can create a new group, but the new group cannot use the exact same name as the dissolved group.
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I created a group and added one person for fun, but told him he could leave since it was a joke between us,  It has just been me for way longer than 48 hours.  It was 4 days ago.  It's still showing on my group list.  If I remove myself, I will have no control over managing it if for some reason I need to remove manually.  Please advise.  Thank you.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

If you are the only person in the group, then you may leave it at any time.  The group will then cease to exist automatically.  A group's owner cannot leave unless he's the only person in it.  Also, you don't need to ask anyone to leave.  You can always eject everyone else, except a co-owner.  Finally, a group should collapse automatically within 48 hours if it has only one member, but weird things do happen sometimes.  If you don't want to rely on the automatic system, abandon the group yourself.

For future reference, a couple of basic guidelines:

1. When you create a group, always add your own alt as a co-owner to keep from accidentally hitting the 48 hour trigger if everyone else bails out.

2.  Don't make anyone else a co-owner unless you are absolutely sure that you can't imagine ever wanting to boot them.  A group owner can never be forced to leave.

3. Think carefully about whether you want to make a group open, so that other people can join without invitation.  That's often a road to drama and disaster.

4.  Study group roles and abilities carefully to be sure that you are giving people permission to do relevant things and prevent them from doing others.  In particular, pay attention to the ability to share profits or liabilities. Otherwise group members may be forced to share the cost of Search listings and may get a share of profits when the group sells assets.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

@CrestedLotus,

Normally, groups with less than two members are disbanded after 48 hours.  The holiday may have delayed that, though.

Are you sure that you're the only member left?

Also, if the group owns land, it will not be disbanded, even if you're the only remaining member.  You can sell the group land to yourself, if you want to.  Then the group will disband.

Or, as an alternative, you can invite your own alt, another SL account that you create, as a second group member, to insure the group's continued survival.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Thanks everyone.  No, not the land owner.  Yes, I'm the only member.  I'll just leave the group and I'm sure it will expire, according to what I'm reading.  I don't want to keep it.  It was a joke. 🙂

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Posted (edited)

May I add (as a general thought) that if you decide to disband a group, send out a group notice a day or two prior, explaining simple reasons why. Consider it a courtesy warning so no one starts thinking negative thoughts of your intentions. If you are planning to create another group and would like the same members, tell them so.

Once the group name is gone (not deleted), it's sent to group name heaven where there are white fluffy clouds, trees and grass and the now defunct group name can run around and play with other group names no longer in service.

The deleted group name can never be used again.

Edited by Jerilynn Lemon

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Jerilynn, thank you.  But as I said, I only added one member and it was kind of a joke.  There was no need to notify anyone since I told him  shortly after I created it to leave the group as it was a joke.  If there is a way to close out this thread, that would be great, as the problem has been resolved.  Thank you again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Nope, a thread is forever!  That's OK though, in about four years somebody will resurrect it with a new post.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...