Avatar extracting for 3D printing

Frasoir Cioc

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3266 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi there

I am a London based artist attempting to extract and 3d print Second Life avatars, but have little technical know-how.

So far, I have tried OGLE 3D extractor with little success as well as Autodesk 123D catch in an attempt to extract my character. I am also aware of Fabjectory (although I don't think their service exists anymore)

If anyone can offer further insight into the software or perhaps could offer some help with rendering from images that would be greatly appreciated. The avatars will be featuring as part of a large exhibition in Scotland later this year, so expect some credit!

Thanks
Fraser

You can't, its against the TOS.  LL owns the copyrights for all things in SL except user created content.  You must obtain their written legal permission as well as the permission of the creators of any avatar parts, such as skin,shape eyes etc.  As well as clothes, hair and things if  you want to use that you didn't create yourself. 

You should contact LL and discuss your project with them. If it is beneficial to them such as a way to promote SL, they may allow it.  If they will allow you too do it they can advise how to proceed.

You only other recourse is to obtain a copy of the basic avatar mesh and use it in a 3D program to make a model of an avatar.

• Like 1

To the above poster, please don´t play admin if you are not one?

Even if it´s against the TOS it is not up to you to take action or play police about it, so either reply to his question or do not reply at all. Cheers.

Regarding your original question Frasoir. Yes of course it is possible to extract your avatar, there is even an option hidden somewhere in the viewer settings that lets you extract your avatar as an .obj file. Which should be easily convertible to whatever format your 3d printer uses.