Jump to content
  • 0

getting a fatal error message


Amarie Glenfadden
 Share

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3899 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

  • 0

I have never seen that error message, so I can only guess .... and this is a wild guess, based on the fact that your error seems to have something to do with "messages".  When you receive message notifications in world, a little box opens in the lower right corner of your screen.  If you click the "X" to delete the box or if you right click periodically and select "Clear notifications", then those messages go away.  If you don't, then they can pile up.  If you log out, these unread notifications are saved for when you next log in. If there are too many of them, processing them during next log in can cause a log in time out and you will be disconnected. The solution here is to delete the file with the saved notifications.  Here's what I'd do to solve the problem in Firestorm.  If you are using another viewer, the method is the same.  Just look for a slightly different filename.

 

  • Locate your Firestorm settings folder. If you do not see this folder, you may need to show hidden folders.
    • On XP: C:\Documents and Settings\[YOUR USERNAME]\Application Data\Firestorm
      or use the environment variable %APPDATA%)
    • On Windows Vista and 7: C:\Users\[uSERNAME]\AppData\Roaming\Firestorm
      (or use the environment variable %APPDATA%)
    • On a Mac: /Users/[YOUR USERNAME]/Library/Application Support/Firestorm
    • On Linux: ~/.firestorm
  • In this folder, open each folder which has the name of your SL account(s) and inside that, delete the file called open_notifications.xml - this will result in all past, unread notifications being lost.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 answer to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

I have never seen that error message, so I can only guess .... and this is a wild guess, based on the fact that your error seems to have something to do with "messages".  When you receive message notifications in world, a little box opens in the lower right corner of your screen.  If you click the "X" to delete the box or if you right click periodically and select "Clear notifications", then those messages go away.  If you don't, then they can pile up.  If you log out, these unread notifications are saved for when you next log in. If there are too many of them, processing them during next log in can cause a log in time out and you will be disconnected. The solution here is to delete the file with the saved notifications.  Here's what I'd do to solve the problem in Firestorm.  If you are using another viewer, the method is the same.  Just look for a slightly different filename.

 

  • Locate your Firestorm settings folder. If you do not see this folder, you may need to show hidden folders.
    • On XP: C:\Documents and Settings\[YOUR USERNAME]\Application Data\Firestorm
      or use the environment variable %APPDATA%)
    • On Windows Vista and 7: C:\Users\[uSERNAME]\AppData\Roaming\Firestorm
      (or use the environment variable %APPDATA%)
    • On a Mac: /Users/[YOUR USERNAME]/Library/Application Support/Firestorm
    • On Linux: ~/.firestorm
  • In this folder, open each folder which has the name of your SL account(s) and inside that, delete the file called open_notifications.xml - this will result in all past, unread notifications being lost.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3899 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...