Sculpty-Texture-Question - Blender/Cinema4d

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4461 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hello,

I have a general question about UV Mapping for a sculpty..

I've created inworld a sculpty. Saved the sculptmap to Blender and saved it there as a obj.file.

In Cinema 4d i worked with this ob.file - i did a uv-mapping and made a new texture and saved this new texture.

Again in-world i used the new created texture from c4d on the orginal sculpty - but the result is not correct.

Does that means that the orginalsculptmap inworld, so to speak, no longer fits

I am new to creating textures for sculpties...so what i am missing here? I would appreciate any help!!

Friendly Greetings

Marlen

(sorry for my english!)

I'm not quite sure if I understand you completely...but what I make of it is this: you changed the UV map of the sculpt.

That's not how sculpts work. A sculpt has a set UV map (a perfect grid) so your texture will have to be adjusted to that.

If you want custom UV maps, you will have to use mesh instead of sculpties.

Hello Kwakheide,

thank you for answering.

yes, you're right. Thats why i made an object from that sculptmap (via Blender). For that

Object i made an uvmapping in Cinema4d and textured it, saved the new texture. then i uploaded

the new texture to sl - and used it on my orginal sculpty in world. Its not fitting.

You said...If you want custom UV maps, you will have to use mesh instead of sculpties".

That means...if i would upload my meshobject the texture would fit on it, right?

The thing is - i dont want to use meshes, i want to use sculpties cause they are not so heavy in prims.

Is there another way how i can use cinema4d for texturing for sculptys?

I am beginner in texturing...i believe i understood something not right  - happy for any advice!