What is the best way to dump someone?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3369 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

As much as I personally feel a distinct abhorrence for the mutual suffering that arises when two partners reach a point when one of them realises that there is no future in the relationship, I have a stream of potential recruits to The Cult contacting me on a regular basis who wish to make a commitment to our community, but who realise that either their partner would not appreciate the benefits of joining us, or who actively want to get away from someone who is preventing them from achieving their potential fulfillment.

I have no experience in such matters, as none who have ever joined with me have wished to break the spiritual and concrete link that we have forged, so I am turning to you out there in the forums for your suggestions and recommendations.

I would exhort you to be frank and free with your advice; my perception is that I have little need to encourage you.

Father "we also accept credit cards" Jim

You don't know how to break up with a partner? 

1.  You tell them it's not them, it's you.

2. You tell them you just are not compatible but that you still want to be friends

3. You run off with someone else and send them an IM and tell them you've joined the navy

4. You fake a death certificate and have someone send it to them.

5. Tell them that you recently developed a sudden attraction to a member of the same (or if you are gay/lesbian the opposite) sex.

6. Suggest that you and your significant other go out to dinner. Right after the food is delivered to your table, excuse yourself to the bathroom to go wash your hands. Find your waiter in the back and hand him a note that you wrote and ask him to give it to your significant other. Then leave.

However, if you are the leader of a cult, give them Kool-Aid.