Mesh animals, Movable Jaws!

Medhue Simoni

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4508 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Ok, so, I been playing with creating an avatar. Rigging seems to be a never ending task. OMG! But this led me to playing around with the rigging. I really hate that the jaw does not move. I figured, why not try to rig the jaw partially to the neck, so that as I make the head look up, it spreads the jaws. After a few test rigs for this, I was able to make it look and move pretty dang good, and much better than any prim animating device. I guess it helps that I'm really an animator, cause if you do this, you will have to create all the animation to make it work. Plus, any animations that move the neck and head from side to side separately is going to look really bad on this avatar. The trick is to rig the jaw very gradually, with the end getting the most weight.

Lycan-Jaw.jpg

• Like 2

Oh wow, that looks cool though. *peeks into the mesh forum entirely for this topic* I would be sooo excited about seeing more mesh animal avatars in SL. Definitely need to look into playing with mesh myself >.> So much potential there.

But yes, good work. ^^b

Thanks Nyx! I'm not done with this avatar yet, and the texturing is just starting, but I was extremely happy to get the Jaw moving like this. Especially for this avatar, as it is very important for a Lycan to roar and bite. Plus, no coding involved, which is always a good thing. I'm actually so geeked I'm done rigging and can animate him, I haven't had time to go any further with texturing him, lol.