Does RL gender matter when dating someone?

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 2740 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I know theres some people playing the opposite sex in SL. But does it normally matter to most people if they are playing the same sex as they are in RL?

I mean, i could imagine dating someone of the opposite sex in SL even if they are same sex in SL... as long as they play their "Role" right.

I normally keep SL and RL seperate, so shouldn't be a problem, right?

• Replies 69
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

I've had some experience with this. My partner was a girl (RL) who played a guy in SL. It was great, we had a lot of fun. We could RP our (as in it's only SL and she and I weren't dating our avis were) relationship or we could just sit and BS being us. It was a wonderful relationship. One of the best I've had in SL. There was never the awkward thing where the guy forgets it's just SL and pushes for RL. No asking for pictures, voice, ect ect. It was all about living our SL the way we wanted, having fun with it and enjoying it for what it was. 

I see no issue with people playing an avi of the opposite sex. How is that any different from people playing lycans, vamps, furries, fairies, elves, ect? It's not. Of course you might catch some flack but what does it matter what anyone else thinks? SL is the perfect place to explore and live out what ever fantasy, dream or what ever it is you want. 

In short? No, Virginia, Santa isn't real and it also doesn't matter your partners RL/SL sex.