Decimated mesh vanished

Twiddle

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4538 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I'm using blender 2.59 right now and I found a mesh I was working with was way to high in poly count, so I ran a decimate modifier on parts of it and now all the areas that I ran the decimate modifier on have vanished, they are no longer visible outside of blender.  I can still see and edit and manipulate them in blender, but as soon as I export to DAE, they disappear on me.  Anyone know why this is?  And more importantly how I can make them visible again?  I've tried messing with materials and normals but neither have worked, I'm still kind of new to mesh so I don't know what else to try.

Like I said, I tried to adjust the normals, and to change the materials, neither of those worked.  SL still accounts for the verticies when I upload, but they're not visible.  Even if I export it to DAE and then import it back into blender they're missing, so it's something in the export proccess that's making them vanish.

Twiddle please clarify.  What exactly did you in Blender to check and correct the normals.  Often CTL-N  in edit mode will not work properly and you have to make your normals visible and flip them individually.  Also depending on y our settings, polys can be drawn 2-sided in Blender, but in reality what you may be looking at is the back side which is invisible in SL.

Note everyone: for Blender 2.6 settings to show poly's as one sided no longer seem to be working, if anyone has a fix, I'd appreciate it if you could post it.