How to be a Designer of Custom Skins, and start a Business?

JessicaMcAdams

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4634 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

I just started and im really interested in being a designer, i have downloaded the skin templates and i made some few which are really nice, i have some photoshop skills. I just want to know how to open up a business to start selling my creations, will it be expensive? Thanks, will be happy for all your answers!

4 answers to this question

Opening a business is extremely easy.  If you want to sell through Marketplace, all you need to do is follow the instructions here >>> http://community.secondlife.com/t5/English-Knowledge-Base/Selling-in-the-Marketplace/ta-p/700193 .  It doesn't cost you a thing to place items there for sale.  LL takes a 5% commission on anything your sell, and you can pay through the nose for special ad placement outside of your store.  Other than that, though, there are no direct costs.

Selling through an in-world shop is almost as easy.  You will need to rent a shop somewhere, so that's a recurring cost (Still, not more than a few dollars USD a month, though).  You may find the information here interesting and helpful >>> http://community.secondlife.com/t5/English-Knowledge-Base/How-to-market-your-products/ta-p/700181.