Help wanted! questions for renting a land.

AmandaBMCC

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4574 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi, everyone.

I'm new to the SL and I want to rent a land.

Hope someone can answer my following questions about renting a land.

Thanks a lot.

1. What does "rental" mean  in second life? someone told me we can't keep other people from entering our land, then why we need to rent?

2. Do we receive and proof or title indicating that we are renting a piece of land?

3. Any privilege we are awarded for the land such as building object on the land?

There isn't much difference between renting and buying land in SL except in buying land you sometimes have to pay for it as well as the first months tier and when you leave you don't get that money back unless you sell it to another resident.

Some rentals allow you to use ban lines or a security orb to keep -people off your property - other forbid it.  There is a difference of opinion among residents of SL about this.  Some think its terrible to restrict access and that ban lines are ugly - Other's don't. That is why there is a choice.  Personally if I am paying for land I want to be able to control who comes on it and would not rent land where ban lines or security orbs are prohibited.

Some rentals will actually transfer the ownership of the land to you but restrict your ability to sell it.  Others don't and you have to join a group in order to rez objects or control media,  Usually the cheap rentals are the ones that make you join he group rather than transfer ownership with restrictions.