Trouble with Random Greet Script

Lili Renilo

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4581 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Hi. I am very new to scripting but I am trying my hardest to learn and develop a script.

I need a script that will sense people within a specified range, i.e. 5m, and then greet them with a random sentence generated from a list, that would be included in the script. I don't want the person that it greets to be bombarded with multiple greetings, so I was trying to incorporate an avatar list of specified number for the script to remember and not repeat, for example last 25 avatars. This is how far I have got so far, can anybody help me progress?

Thank you so much in advance to anyone who comes to my rescue! :)

list greetings = ["Hi", "Hello", "Greetings", "Welcome"];

list recent_avatars;

add_avatar(string name) {
    if(!seen(name)) {
        recent_avatars += name;
        if (llGetListLength(recent_avatars) > 25) {
            recent_avatars = llDeleteSubList(recent_avatars,0,0);
        }
    }
}
integer seen(string name) {
    if(llListFindList(recent_avatars,[name]) > -1) { return TRUE; }
    return FALSE;
}

{

state_entry() {
        llSensorRepeat("", NULL_KEY, AGENT, 5, PI, 5);
    }
    sensor(integer total_number) {
        if(!seen(llDetectedName(0))) {
            // speak out loud!
        llSay(0, llList2String(greetings,saying2say));

add_avatar(llDetectedName(0));
    }
}

}

It looks pretty good so far. You're almost done.  My own preference would be to do away with the two user-defined functions and compress the script by in-lining them.  The script will run faster and be easier to read.   Something like this ...