Mesh vs. Sculpt

Maryld Althouse

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3026 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

OK, I'm a bit of a lurker here - seems others are much quicker to answer questions than I can.  I've been scripting for a while now, and I admit I'm a beginner with building things.  Recently, I've started messing with sculpts and meshes.  What I've run into makes me wonder just WHAT Mesh is good for:  Not everyone has Viewer 2 or FIrestorm - so they can't see mesh yet.  I myself prefer a different viewer, for now. 

Wanting to make something rather simple (I thought), I tried to make it as a mesh.  I knew before hand that my object made with regular prims would be about 15 prims or so - not bad, but I was hoping for 10 or less.  Made my mesh, uploaded via Viewer 2, editted, looked good.  But the base - a wrought iron type stand - was 6 prims.  The same as I would have had with regular prims.  Switching back to my normal viewer, it looked horrible. 

So, my question - is it too eary for mesh yet?  Since not everyone has the capability to see it, it's not for everyone.  And had I sculpted the base the same way, it would have been 1 prim (or at worst, 2).  Can someone please explain to me what benefits I'll get from making things via mesh, as opposed to regular prims, besides the obvious that certain shapes will look better as mesh.

Thank you.

I completely get what you're saying. There is a level of detail you can get with mesh in some instances that you just can't get with sculpting. BUT...LL has gotten so greedy with their prim equiv's with the meshing. Also, I uploaded something that was 5 prims put together and it costed 167 Lindens. LOL I couldn't believe how much it was to upload a simple prim that had no texturing or anything extra. Just a small collar basically.