What is everyone's thoughts about mesh clothing?

Annie Melson

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3933 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I've been checking out mesh clothing, and starting the process of learning how to make mesh myself as I am a clothing designer, but I have to admit that I have very mixed feelings about mesh clothing. I see some cool things about it, but then I also see negatives. I like the textures and ease with them, and how simple it is to wear, but one major downside that I have found so far is that it makes my AV look either puffy or super skinny, and I'm not liking that. What do you think??

Do you like mesh clothing? Or do you still like the "old" way of wearing clothes with sculpted attachments? What's your thoughts? :)

I'm sort of on the fence myself. I see some amazing stuff already coming out, and even beautiful full perm templates available for those of us (ok me!) not able to function well in Blender.

I think if each creator looks carefully at what they want to create mesh-wise, and see that its advantages are more than the disadvantages - when making the same thing the regular way, they can't really go wrong.

For me, its more a matter of will my customers (current and future) want to buy/wear mesh clothing or not. I guess I'll send out some polls and ask them myself :)

I still like the regular way of making/wearing clothing, I don't think mesh will replace that, but be incorporated into it - like sculpties were - as simply other options available for people to create/wear in SL.

I'm still poking along at the edges of mesh, and haven't jumped in full force yet: but I've been around a long time, and I do try to keep up with the new stuff coming out. And any outlet for my creativity is a plus!