Why do I only see my hair or other people's hair? And why is there water instead of land everywhere?

Vivawire

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4415 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

Ok. I am completely new to virtual worlds and have no clue about anything technical. Please treat me like a kindergärtner when you answer me otherwise I will just be confused.

I have a new MacBook Pro. When I first registered and logged on, everything seemed fine. I could see solid land, other people and myself. The next time I logged on, there was no land...only water. Plus, all I am is just a head of hair...nothing else. And when I can see people, I can only see their hair.

I have no clue what to do. Please help me!

Thanks!

Thanks for your responses.

I have an Intel HD Graphics 3000 card w/ VRAM (Total): 384 M. I'm not sure what you mean by the type of viewer I am using. All I have done is download the SL application and open it to access the site.

Is there another viewer I should be using?

I am going to take your advice and uninstall SL and reinstall it with the defaults to see if that makes a difference.

Thanks again!

Okay...I tried reinstalling SL and I get the same results.

How do I change the draw and graphics settings?

5 answers to this question