Is this considered "wrong?"

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3294 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

I was wondering if this is considered "wrong":

I am extremely new to SL. I play World of Warcraft and my guildies keep talking about it, so I figured "why not?" so far, it's fun, but really glitchy. Anyway, one of my guildies was talking about thier SL relationship like it was real. Like, they were really dating. I thought it woukd be cool to have a SL romance, but not on that level. I RP, so my toon is NOTHING like me. Is it ok to just RP a romance and not give out personal details and stuff? I'm not looking for a RL relationship. Or are people on here for a RL relationship?

Considered wrong by whom? Everything is considered wrong by somebody out there, which means that other people's opinions don't make a very good moral compass.

If something is legal, it's probably not wrong, unless it greatly hurts somebody's feelings. And even if it's illegal, it doesn't have to be wrong if it doesn't harm anybody. That's the only moral compass you need.

I guess what I'm trying to ask is, with so many people taking SL relationships so seriously, is it considered impolite to have an RP romance with no real feelings involves on my end. Or is that cruel?

On one hand, it's just a game and you have to assume you know nothing of the person behind the toon. I use this upproach in WoW although I am 99% sure I know who my good guildie friend is, I have to assume on some level she isn't who ahe says she is. And that's ok. It wouldn't bother me that a 20 yr old blonde toon is really some 55 year old fat guy.

On the other hand, I have to understand that there are people on here who take thier SL relationships very seriously and these people may get hurt to find out I'm not wanting a real relationship.