Orientation Island now a kicking arena?

Joolan

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4292 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Well, I thought the mounting individual personal security issues I've been having were enough so I went back to orientation island to talk to someone/anyone who doesnt answer either in riddles (I'm new, I dont understand a lot of what others may already know) or doesnt just ignore with a laugh!

I arrive there to 'UGH UGLY' and 'KIck her out' and other abuses I wont mention here .. er is this some test lol? I'm told to go to a website to learn how to protect myself? but it wasnt done in the friendly of manners using the most helpful language ..and I was booted off the island twice

I know I'm supposed to get some message from this all, but struggling to see what it is .. I go to 'school' to learn more things and am ignored by a lecturer when I merely say hello. I'm a lecturer in real life and would never ignore a student

I'm an inch from leaving second life, I thought second life was what you made it, and your reasons for being here were entirely up to the user? I bought land and thought I'd be safer in a peaceful community but am constantly bombarded by 'visitors' who dont talk, just stare or laugh or comment on why I've bought land where I have as if I'm not allowed to, but they dont actually say.

So Orientation Island Public is a kicking arena now? Or did i stumble upon something that doesnt usually occur there, I'm worried for very new second lifer members aswell as me. Have I missed something? or should I just go

You just encountered some of those people (sometimes dubbed "greifers") who like to harrass newcomers, they do it out of boredom... or something...