Different viewers?

Davina101

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 4615 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Yes, I'm a newbie, and I have no idea what these different viewers are, like Firestorm or Pheonix. I played with SL many years ago but it quickly outgrew my computer, so I just quit. I never got very far and I think, back then, getting dressed was a couple clicks and you're done. So, I have a new computer and decided to try again. Very different today. But I downloaded and installed what I thought was the latest release for a SL viewer, that was two days ago. Now, already, SL is telling me that there is a newer version. It wants me to download 2.8.3.238392 and I assume that is specific for my Windows 7/64bit system. So, I don't understand what all these "names" are and if they are specific viewers for specific platforms. Are there certain advantages that some viewers have over others or should I always be downloading whatever SL recommends?

Regarding allways downloading the newest version, NO!   Disable automatic downloads in prefs, and check in the forums before dl'ing a new version. Might save you a lot of trouble :)

As for the other viewers, as many ppl are on SL, so many different opinions are there for these. :)

I suggest, after getting used to SL again, read about them or even try 1 or 2, and find what Viewer YOU  are most comfortable with ! :)

Just a little followup, because basically, I don't have any other viewers to compare this one to at the moment. But I suppose that will come with time. But I noticed a [check-box] in the set-up that said [Allow Multiple viewers]. Any idea why this would be a benefit?

Thank You Marianne, I just have the one, that's probably enough for me to keep up with for now. But I did just get a message box telling me that SL automatically downloaded some update. I have been looking for where to turn that off but haven't found it yet.