Jump to content
  • 0

Still having trouble...


Raeynaa
 Share

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3394 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Question

  • 0

If you download and install an older V2 viewer, the very first thing to do is open Preferences and disable the Automatic Download of Updates.  If you don't do that, it will keep trying to replace the brand new installation that you just did with a newer one --- which is exactly what you DON'T want to do.  You want to stay with the older version that you just installed.

Also, when you are going to install an older version of the same viewer, it's always wise to manually remove all traces of the previous version instead of loading the new one on top of it.  That way, you won't inherit any buggy files that might be leftover from the previous installation.  See http://wiki.phoenixviewer.com/doku.php?id=clean_reinstall .

Link to comment
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

If you download and install an older V2 viewer, the very first thing to do is open Preferences and disable the Automatic Download of Updates.  If you don't do that, it will keep trying to replace the brand new installation that you just did with a newer one --- which is exactly what you DON'T want to do.  You want to stay with the older version that you just installed.

Also, when you are going to install an older version of the same viewer, it's always wise to manually remove all traces of the previous version instead of loading the new one on top of it.  That way, you won't inherit any buggy files that might be leftover from the previous installation.  See http://wiki.phoenixviewer.com/doku.php?id=clean_reinstall .

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

Here's a more detailed set of instructions for doing a clean install of updated graphics drivers than you may have received before.  It's in the same spirit as the general recommendation that I gave you in my last post, regarding clean installation of viewers.  Take a look >>> http://wiki.secondlife.com/wiki/Clean_Install

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 0

There is always the scorched earth approach, where you uninstall SL, then delete:

(XP) - C: \ Documents and Settings \ (USER NAME) - Application Data \ SecondLife AND
C: \ Documents and Settings \ (USER NAME) \ Local Settings \ Application Data \ Second Life

(Vista) - C: \ Users \ (USER NAME) \ AppData \ Roaming \ SecondLife AND
C: \ Users \ (USER NAME) \ ApplData \ Local \ Secondlife

(Win 7) - C: \ Users \ (USER NAME) \ AppData - Roaming \ SecondLife AND
C: \ Users \ (USER NAME) \ AppData \ Local \ Secondlife

(LIstings lovingly provided by LoveAngel)

 

Once these are gone, your preferences and your caches will be no more.  You can then install SL from scratch, and everything will get recreated once more.  While it's a bit of work, it guarantees that no old glitch can remain and foul up a new install.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

You are about to reply to a thread that has been inactive for 3394 days.

Please take a moment to consider if this thread is worth bumping.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now
 Share

×
×
  • Create New...